February 20th

OK, not that anyone’s reading this anymore, but I didn’t like the idea of just leaving a post up with no explanation as to what happened.

Basically, because of my work, I try my best to keep a low profile. Someone got a bit too close, so I shut it down. Also, I found that I didn’t really have anything to say anymore that I couldn’t say on Facebook with less effort.

I’ve been back on the Home Planet for the past 7 months and it’s been amazing. I work my ass off and never see my wife and spend the weekends playing Mr. Mom, but it still beats living on that shitty backwater planet of Trafalmadore.

I never want to go back there.

Don’t get me wrong. The Trafalmadorian people were amazing. Gracious, tenacious, caring, and completely undeserving of the crappy hand they’d been dealt in life thanks to a certain cigar smoking bearded dictator who just won’t let go and die already.

But I never want to go back there.

The other day, someone in my office was microwaving a can of SpaghettiOs. I almost threw up when I caught a whiff of it as I had been forced to consume so much of it during the 2 years we were on Trafalmadore since there was no food to be found anywhere.

I will never eat canned food again. I feel kind of like Scarlett O’Hara when I say that.

I know there are worse countries to live in, and that others have been through worse, but I really can’t see why anyone would ever want to voluntarily live in such a craphole as Trafalmadore.

Wonderful people, great culture, shitty country. That’s the bottom line.

OK, all for now. Perhaps I’ll check in later, though I doubt it.

Just wanted to clean this site up a bit.

V.

1 Response to “February 20th”


  1. 1 dave June 9, 2010 at 3:32 am

    welcome back….living overseas just makes you appreciate there even more. cheers.


Leave a Reply

WHO IS VANCE ASTRO?

The idiot in the chicken suit waving at your car as you speed down the Highway of Life.

The Fine Print

All photographs published on or used on this blog were taken by me, Vance Astro. They are protected by copyright, and are owned, controlled, and licensed by their creator - me. Unauthorized copying, reproduction, republishing, uploading, posting, transmitting, duplicating, or photoshopping of any of the original material without permission from me is prohibited.

DISCLAIMER

This website is privately operated and is designed to provide personal information, opinions, views, and commentary. The opinions expressed on this website are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views or policy of ANY governmental organization. This site is not designed, authorized, sanctioned, or affiliated with ANY governmental organization of any type. Visitors to this website accept and agree to this disclaimer in the use of any information presented or accessed from this website.

Lurkers And Stalkers

  • 20,940 hits

What It’s Like Down Here

"Every time I think about back home it's cool and breezy. I wish that I could be there right now just passing time."

"Everybody seems to wonder what it's like down here. I gotta get away from this day-to-day running around. Everybody knows this is nowhere."

- Neil Young (1969)

A TALE TOLD BY AN IDIOT

LIFE’S BUT A POOR PLAYER

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."

I Love My Country, But Fear My Government

Taxonomy


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.